PDA

View Full Version : boiler - who is responsible for upkeep?

claw
14-12-2010, 08:07 AM
I have been renting a business for nearly 5 years and when I took the business and lease on I receiveed a contract from the owner which I can't find anywhere. I have a combi boiler that is over 5 years old and was put in by the owner of the premises when I moved in. I know some of thet pipes and the tank for the boiler is upstairs in the flat above which is rented out on a residential basis and recently I had a leak coming into my room (I do beauty therapy) which was coming from the tank from above in the flat. My landlord paid the plumber who sorted out the small leak but apparantly this leak was coming from a tank which had not been emptied when the boiler was put in 5 years ago by the owner. She is now telling me that she paid the plumber as a goodwill gesture for the recent leak and since then I now have another problem - the boiler is leaking and she said that the problem is my responsibility and if I get a plumber I will have to pay the costs. I have had a plumber come to fix it and have paid for it but the plumber said that legally it is the owners responsibility and that she should have had the boiler checked and serviced and given me certificates for safety reasons. Can anyone advise me or do I have to get a copy of my contract.
Help appreciated please!

MrJohnnyB
14-12-2010, 08:25 AM
Plumbers/Electricians think they understand the way in which commercial property works - as a general rule they dont. Most commercial leases are on full repairing and insuring terms ie you have to pay for any repairs and insurance. Without sight of the document we cannot really comment. You say it has pipes to the first floor. Does it also serve as their hot water boiler/central heating system?

claw
14-12-2010, 14:00 PM